info
Need Help? Ask a Librarian

 

Support & Training

 

 

 

Staff are here to help you make the best of the services and resources available in our libraries and online.

Library staff can help you to find the best resources (print and online) for your subject area and can offer assistance with using library facilities. We have staff with expertise on information resources in your subject area, who are here to support you with your studies, research, or teaching. 

As well as being available for one-to-one enquiries, our staff provide training sessions throughout the year aimed at helping you identify and use the information resources you need for your study.  If we don't have what you need, we can help you find it in another library or may be able to order it for you. 

 

Guides

LibGiudes are online guides created by library staff to provide helpful information on key sources in your chosen subject area including finding items in print and online, searching databases, useful websites and help with citation & referencing.

You can access the libguides from http://libguides.gmit.ie/.

There are a number of individual guides to help you navigate around our libraries and online services. These guides are available in print at your campus library.

Subject Guides Information Guides

 

Tutorials and Presentations

The Library has created some tutorials and presentations to help you with your research.

Tutorials

  1. Where do I start? by Colorado State University Libraries
  2. Searching GMIT Libraries
  3. Searching the Catalogue & Placing Holds on Books
  4. Setting up a Library PIN
  5. Ebooks @ GMIT Libraries
  6. Library Databases
  7. Advanced Database Searching & Features
  8. Introducing ProQuest Flow
  9. Creating an EndNote Web Account
  10. Academic Onefile Guided Tour
  11. General Onefile Guided Tour
  12. ScienceDirect Tutorials

Presentations

Selection of Powerpoint presentations by library staff to support our services & facilities.

  1. Introduction to the Library
  2. Using the Online Library - L2L
  3. Copyright and Plagiarism - L2L
  4. Citation and Referencing - L2L
  5. Databases & Evaluating Resources
  6. Journals - what they are & how to find them

The Virtual Training Suite provides free Internet tutorials to help you learn how to get the best from the web for your education and research.

Tutorials are available in the following subject areas (among others):

  1. Agriculture
  2. Archaeology
  3. Architecture
  4. Art & Design
  5. Business & Management
  6. Computer Science and Informatics
  7. Chemistry
  8. Civil Engineering
  9. Education
  10. Electrical Engineering
  11. Environment
  12. Food Safety
  13. Geography
  14. Health & Safety
  15. Health & Social Care
  16. History
  17. Hospitality & Catering
  18. Law
  19. Leisure, Sport and Recreation
  20. Mathematics
  21. Materials Engineering
  22. Mechanical Engineering
  23. Microbiology
  24. Nursing
  25. Photography
  26. Physics
  27. Religious Studies
  28. Social Research Methods
  29. Sociology
  30. Sports & Leisure
  31. Travel & Tourism

 

 

Subject Support

Each of the Institute's schools has a designated subject librarian. The role of the subject librarian is to work with their designated School to help identify and meet the information needs of staff, researchers and students.

Students:

Contact your subject librarian about:

  • Books that don’t seem to be in the Library catalogue or on the shelves
  • Course work that you don’t know where to start on
  • Frustrations you have when using the Library
Staff:

Contact your subject librarian for:

  • Advice on material selection and acquisition
  • Advice on finding quality information
  • Training on a range of information skills, including using the Library catalogue, how to cite references and avoid plagiarism, database searching and evaluating information
  • Assistance with research
  • Instruction/refresher courses on using the Library’s electronic resources
  • Training in the use of EndNote Online
  • Attend school staff meetings / programme board meetings
  • Meet with student representatives

 

Your Subject Librarian:

 

Subject Area:

Contact:

Phone:

Email:

Business

Maura Stephens

091 742827

maura.stephens@gmit.ie

Engineering

Kathryn Briggs

091 742789

kathryn.briggs@gmit.ie

Tourism & Arts
Creative Arts & Media

Bernie Lally

091-742781

bernie.lally@gmit.ie

Science

Catherine McTigue

091 742783

catherine.mctigue@gmit.ie

 

Training

The library offers training sessions to all students and staff. Training sessions are an easy way to learn about and explore the wide range of resources and services that are available to support your studies or teaching.

Examples of information skills training include:
  1. Library inductions
  2. Information sources
  3. Using the library catalogue
  4. Copyright and plagiarism
  5. Citing and referencing
  6. Using electronic resources
  7. Bibliographic database searching
  8. Reference management

Training courses can be delivered using a variety of teaching methods and formats including:

  • One-to-one training
  • Group training
  • Demonstrations
  • Presentations
  • Online tutorials

We offer a timetable of scheduled training sessions. You can arrange a session by contacting library@gmit.ie or come along to a drop-in session.

 

Off Campus Access

You will need to sign in using your First Name, ID number and your library PIN to access Library resources and My Library Account off-campus. Your library PIN (Personal Identification Number) is a password that verifies your identity when you use the library website library.gmit.ie

Students:

  • ID number is your student ID number, eg. G0002179
  • Library PIN is typically a four digit numerical number created by you or a staff member when you you started using the library

Staff:

  • ID number is your staff ID / payroll number
  • Library PIN is typically a four digit numerical number created by you or a staff member when you you started using the library

Contact the library if you have problems accessing resources off-campus.

 

Help

One of the ways the Library can help you excel in your studies or research is through training.

  • Email us: library@gmit.ie
  • Call us: +353 (091) 742785
  • Ask a member of staff in the Library

Staff

Contact your Subject Librarian to discuss training needs for your students, request a session for your class or recommend a drop-in session.