Search Summon

SummonAll databases with this icon are indexed in Summon ( Library Search Engine)

|1-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z |

Database

Click on the title to access resource

Description

Click on the i for more information

1840 Ordnance Survey 6 inch maps for Galway

icon about

Original OS maps for Galway county from 1840

Academic Onefile
Summon

icon about

Physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects

Academic Search Complete
Summon
irel irel irel

icon about

Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many mnore

Art Abstracts
Summon

bullet

Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Summon

more info icon

 

Archaeology , architecture, art, asian Studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion, theater

BAILII

more info icon

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. The system contains around 200,000 searchable documents. BAILII is hosted in the UK and Ireland by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, London and the Law Faculty, University College Cork.

top

 

Barkeeper.ie

more info icon

Over 1700 pages of information from leading hospitality professionals, consultants and advisors to be in the best possible position to turn any food and beverage business into a profitable operation.

Barmenus.com

more info icon

An online application created to service the hospitality industry. It allows you to quickly and easily create cocktail menus and Feature Cocktail Cards to promote drinks and cocktails to drive your bar sales.

BIAB - British & Irish archaeological bibliography

more info icon

Provides information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland

Biomed Central
Summon

more invo icon

An STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model

British Standards Online

more info icon

A bibliographic, citation and full-text database of more than 45,000 standards. British Standards Online is rich in business-critical content covering a broad range of disciplines for all industry sectors

Business.ie*Password Required please contact library

more info icon

Full Irish Kompass Business Database: 150,000 live businesses, full contact details, products & serviceslisted, executive contacts listed, trade & brandnames listed, company description where available

Businesspost.ie*Password Required please contact library

more info icon

The Daily Business Post online gives GMIT patrons access to the searchable archive of fulltext articles dating back to 2004

Business Source Complete
Summon irel irel

This business resource exceeds all other databases available in terms of its premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Included as part of the comprehensive coverage offered by Business Source Complete are indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Cambridge Online Journals

more info icon

Online access to over 300 of the world's leading journals spanning the humanities, social sciences and sciences

CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health
Summon

more info icon

Provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health

Coutts OASIS *

more info icon

The leading web-based user interface for book searching, selection and order management

Clinical Skills Online

more info icon

Online videos demonstrating core clinical skills common to a wide range of medical and health-based courses

Dictionary of Irish Biography

more info icon

A significant online reference involving 700 contributors and spanning 9,000 lives. It includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland throughout history to the present time.

top

 

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Summon

more info icon

A service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals

E-packs - French for Beginners *

more info icon

E-packs are online interactive self-study exercises designed to consolidate language taught at Higher Education level

Ebrary - Ebook Collection
Summon

more info icon

Ebrary's Academic Complete collection offers access to over 60,000 ebooks across most academic disciplines. These include Business, Computing, Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, History, Humanities, Science and many more

EBSCO Health Source Nursing Adademic
Summon

more info icon

Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals

Emerald
Summon

more info icon

Economics & accounting, general management, health & environment, HR management, library & information management, marketing, operations, production & logistics management, property, quality management, training & education

Encyclopedia Britannica * Castlebar Campus Only

more info

A search and directory site featuring Encyclopædia Britannica

EndNoteWeb

more info icon

Access the Web version of our Bibliographic Referencing Tool, EndNote

Engineering Village

more info

Bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over ten million references and abstracts taken from over 5,600 scholarly journals, trade magazines, conference proceedings and technical reports.

ESRI - The Economic and Social Research Institute

more info icon

Research that contributes to understanding economic and social change and that informs public policymaking and civil society in Ireland and throughout the European Union.

Euromonitor

more info icon

•Marketing reports and statistics service containing 115 million internationally comparable statistics on industries, countries and consumers
•Forward looking analysis from global, regional, country and company perspectives
•Insightful comment from expert analysts
•Updated daily with the latest research for 205 countries

top

 

Factfinder

more info icon

More than 125 Irish business magazines, newspapers, e-journals and web-based news services going back as far as 1991

Foodwatching Online *Password Required please contact library

more info icon

Access to the archives of FoodWatching monthly magazine and many other food trends reports back to June 2008

Gale Group Powersearch
Summon

more info icon

Search Academic OneFile and General OneFile together

General Onefile
Summon

more info icon

Access to periodical and news content as well as indexing from a variety of general and specialized journals – from the New York Times and Christian Science Monitor to refereed academic journals.

Google Books

more info icon

Search the full text of some seven million books through Google Book Search

Google Scholar

more info icon

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

GreenFILE
Summon

more info icon

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Gut! - German Language Skills * 9am-5pm

more info icon

Interactive activities for German teachers and learners.

Highwire
Summon

more info icon

The largest repository of high impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1277 journals and 6,103,956 full text articles from over 140 publishers.

Index to Theses

more info icon

A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716

Info4Education

more info icon

Full text of current regulations, standards, guidance documents, technical advice and a vast array of related news and briefings for Construction and Civil Engineering subject areas.

top

 

Ingenta
Summon

more info icon

Scholarly books and journals from a range of different publishers

INIS

more info icon

Scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture and health

The Irish Times Online

more info icon

The Irish Times online Archive gives GMIT patrons access to the searchable archive of articles dating back to 1859,

Irish Statute Book - Acts, Statutory Instruments

more info icon

Acts of the Oireachtas, Statutory Instruments and Legislation Directory (Chronological Tables) of the Statutes for the period 1922-2005

ISI Science Citation Index
Summon

more info icon

A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes over 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines and includes all cited references captured from indexed articles

JSTOR Ireland Collection
Summon

more info icon

Journals and other resources across the arts, humanities, and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics, and biology. Materials span from the 1780s to the present, providing a rich focus on Ireland

JUSTIS Irish Reports & Digest

more info icon

Irish Reports covers over 80 years of Irish case reports and contains the full text data of published cases from 1838 to the present day.

The source material for Irish Digests are:

  • The Irish Reports (1917 – 1999)
  • Irish Jurist Reports (1932 – 1965)
  • Irish Law Journal (1931 – 1934)
  • Irish Law Reports Monthly (1976 – 2000)
  • Irish Law Times Reports (53 – 114)
  • Northern Ireland Reports (1925 – 1999)
  • Irish Special Reports (1980 – 1998)

top

 

Nursing Elsevier E-books

more info icon

Our subscription provides full text access to the following book titles:

  • Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness 11e
  • Alexander's Nursing Practice 4e
  • Applying the RoperLoganTierney Model in Practice 2e
  • Psychiatric Drugs Explained 5e
  • Infection Control in Clinical Practice 3e
  • *Trounce's Clinical Pharmacology for Nurses 18e
  • Watson's Clinical Nursing and Related Sciences 7e
  • Nursing Knowledge and Practice 3e
  • Pharmacology and Medicines Management for Nurses 4e
  • Sociology as Applied to Medicine 6e

Oye! - Spanish Language Skills

more info icon

Interactive activities for Spanish teachers and learners

Pub Med

more info icon

The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature

Regional Business News
Summon

more info icon

More than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

Safari Books Online

more info icon

E-books on business and technologies most essential to users, including certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix systems, Web development, Windows, Mac, Adobe design software, XML and more.

Click here to browse entire Safari Books Online categories, please email us if you have suggestions for titles to be added.

ScienceDirect
Summon

more info icon

Scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles, the majority coming from Elsevier

Scirus - Scientific Search Engine

more info icon

The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet

Social Science Citation Index
Summon

more info icon

A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.

SourceOECD

more info icon

An online service that provides access to all OECD books, periodicals and statistical databases as well as easy access to OECD working papers

Sut! - Welsh Language Skills

more info icon

Interactive activities for Welsh teachers and learners

Taylor & Franics
Summon

more info icon

Journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis

Taxfind *Password Required Off Campus please contact library

more info icon

A comprehensive electronic database of the primary sources of Irish tax law, commentary and practice assembled in one easy to use online resource. IE Only

UK Eire Reference Centre
Summon

more info icon

Combines British & Irish sources (magazines, newspapers, and reference books) with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries

top

 

Web of Science
Summon

more info icon

Consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.

Wiley Online Library
Summon

more info icon

Quality content across a broad range of disciplines, including science, technology and medicine

Wilson Web (Omnifile)
Summon

more info icon

Contains everything (all the indexing, abstracting, and full text) that is contained in these six Wilson databases:

* Education Full Text
* General Science Full Text
* Humanities Full Text
* Readers' Guide Full Text
* Social Sciences Full Text
* Wilson Business Full Text

Zut! - French Language Skills * 9am-5pm

more info icon

Over a 1000 exercises for French teachers and learners, over 500 of which are listening comprehension using native French speakers. Zut! also includes exercises for the interactive whiteboard and pronunciation sections.

top

 


 
irel